The Honor Policy

Yesterday I wrote about The Natural Market …and Gill the owners, M.O.

He has this unique idea of having his farm open 24 hours a day, unsupervised, where the consumer simply logs the amount of produce they picked and wanted to purchase on a sheet of paper. When they have used the 100 dollar initial deposit, they simply write another check,leave it in the envelope, and start over.

My brain is perplexed! I want to be Open Minded!

But…

I kept thinking of all the ways people will try and take advantage of Gill…doesn’t he comprehend what kind of world we live in, and granting unlimited access seems like insanity to me… there are a gazillion teenagers in this area, isn’t he worried that it might open the door for pranks or vandalism or theft…It honestly makes me kind of crazyWhy would he do this???

Source

Then I had an epiphany…obviously Gill knows what he’s doing. He is a man in his late fifties, with years of experience running co-ops and organic farming. His practices may seem strange, but his principle is sound…He trusts the goodness in others.

My nature is to be suspicious of people when I first meet them…I was suspicious of Gill. I frankly, thought he had to have some kind of ulterior motive…because no one in their right mind would just trust people to be honest..I mean I’m a total stranger…

Ha…there was no underlying deception by the way…he just wants people to eat better, and foster an atmosphere of openness. Plain and Simple!

He wants to do business the old fashioned way were this actually meant something.

Source

Although this is certainly not typical in our modern economic system…it’s a worthwhile premise.It got me to thinking…. we really need to raise our expectations of human behavior instead of constantly catering to the lowest common denominator. We should give people more opportunities to prove their internal goodness.

I always loved this quote…

True character is what you do when no one is watching…

and this one

Integrity is built by defeating the temptation to be dishonest; humility grows when we refuse to be prideful; and endurance develops every time you reject the temptation to give up.”  ~ Rick Warren

I was inspired in a positive way this weekend…I definitely want to try a seek the positive virtues out in others instead of instantly jumping to distrustful judgments..

Lord help me! (because I’ll need it)

Happy Monday!

 

Leave a Reply

