A Gym Woe

Today was a gym day. I must state for the record, I adore my gym-I’ve been going to the same one for about five years now. I’ve been loyal to my trusty old Gold’s Gym  through many different challenges: remodels, price increases, broken equipment and even-gasping– when another crazy male member was harassing me (I did however, take a break during that period).

I feel like though,  I may be approaching a cross roads in our gym going relationship.

I walked in today and realized they had rearranged the equipment yet again. Unfortunately, now it’s a situation which (dang it all) makes it virtually impossible for me to get my complete workout in.

This is the scenario- all the equipment is lined up against the walls creating a huge open space in the center- which isn’t a bad idea at all, and could be considered nice if you like feeling like your on

Source

stage when you’re doing your exercises(by the way, I don’t). My usual routine preference is to go in, use the equipment I need, then find an out- of- the- way corner, or maybe an area off to the side to do my core exercises, jump roping and stretching.

Boo Hoo  all the little niches are gone- there is literally something placed in every available nook and cranny.

Sooo I can’t do what I like to do any more…uggg. I don’t want to complain but it’s frustrating.

Actually, what seems to be the theory behind this new arrangement  is for the personal trainers to utilize this space to perform cross fit style workouts with their clients

Source

…which I think is awesome.I like to workout similar to this style anyway. Plus- by watching them work out- I get tons of new ideas for my own workouts. BUT-on the flip- I felt like I was in their way when I tried to share some of the open space with them.

What to do-What to do

I had an idea!!!

I could use the empty group fitness room before the first class began. Excellent solution!! I only need about 15 OR 20 minutes. The yoga class didn’t start for about 45 minutes Plenty of time ..YAY!  I got all set up, mat, exercise ball, bosu, jump rope and got started…  after about five minutes, droves of women began to come in and start lining up their yoga mats all around me-while simultaneously giving me the stink eye. Mind you…they have 40 minutes until their class starts but apparently, the back of the room is prime yoga space and I was intruding.

Lets just say I received no Zen vibe from them today!

Source

I gathered and put away the stuff I brought in and left the room very irritated! I decided to end my workout and do cardio!

Luckily

The rest of the day was great- other than one minor mix up with Zack and Aaron’s dentist appointments. Woops!…I got the boys there all prepped, ready, on time, but…. their apponitment was on Thursday not Tuesday. NICE!

Zack says to me

Great, I brushed my teeth for nothing.”

Really, Zack!!!!

Dinner was Baked Salmon

I’m actually not a huge fan of seafood-I like tuna fish,salmon, and shrimp- that’s about it.

I actually discovered I liked salmon when one night, on a whim I made some. Yes,  I must admit it’s quite tasty

Like all my cooking…the prep is relatively basic. I use Publix Sockeye Salmon

20130305_18320220130305_184552

Spread a teaspoon of butter(you could also substitute with olive oil) on each fillet, squeeze fresh lemon juice, and sprinkle with garlic salt. I baked in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.

I prefer my fish more on the done side…so I usually turn the oven off and leave it inside for an additional five or ten minutes.

20130305_193021

Does it look appetizing…not so sure, judging from the picture…but rest assured it tasted yummmy! I served with a ginormous salad on the side.

20130305_18465720130305_192543

Tonight’s meal was healthy and satisfying!

I’m going to try and think of a resolution for my gym dilemma…but if all else fails I might be in the market for a new place to work out. Say it ain’t so.

Change is good…right?

Leave a Reply

