Doing Work-Putting In Time

Mitch and I started out our Sunday with church… afterwards we came home- quickly changed and headed back out to go to the gym.

Working out on the weekends at our gym is mahhhhvelous…typically there are no crowds, no group exercise classes ( yippee….the rooms are available for members-ME– to use), and it’s just an overall chill atmosphere.

I felt great working out today…for the first time in a long while.

I tried out this exercise today…

Harder than it looks!

In addition to my usual workout,I noticed they had installed a new to me piece of equipment in one of the open areas. I asked Mitch about it, and he explained,(using his deep and serious I’m an authority on the subject voice…hahaha) these thingys are called battle ropes and weigh about thirty pounds each..20130310_125049

The idea is-basically to use your arm/upper body strength to create a wave like motion with the ropes. This would be an excellent cardio/ heart pumping, interval addition-maybe??

So…

Yeah… sure…I got this!!!!

20130310_125212

Not really…at all..He actually took the picture exactly when I lifted up the rope. I will surely have to practice this one for awhile…maybe one day I will come remotely close to being able to do what he did!

Speaking of practice…last year, my New Years Resolution (2012) was to be able to do ten pull-ups by the end of the year. I didn’t quite make my goal Baring teeth smile, and lately I’ve been at kind of a sticking point-I’m only able to complete seven pull-ups.

Until today~ mmm hmmm- I did eight!

YES!

20130310_125243

I feel like I might be able to finally reach my goal soon… my enthusiasm is renewed…hooray!

better late than never!

Did you know it takes 10,000 hours to be an expert at something???

Have you ever heard of the 10,000 hours to greatness concept…I hadn’t, until recently when I was scrolling through Twitter and came across a tweet mentioning it. I was intrigued…so I did a little research on the topic…

This principle is attributed to a Malcolm Gladwell, he is the author of a couple of noteworthy books( one being, Outliers: The Story of Success)… my takeaway from reading a few articles on the internet is-

Are you readythis extremely ground breaking stuff

Success takes time…it takes patience…it takes learning from mistakes

BUT…most of all it takes practice!

Wow… I never would’ve guessed it!

Such Simple Sounding Advice!

I know this is probably basic information for most people, and it truly is…but sometimes its those unpretentious little tidbits of knowledge that really resonate with me personally.

I sincerely want to be a writer…but currently…I’m merely practicing the habit of trying to write something/content on most days. I don’t want to get discouraged and give up- because its hard( sometimes I really do want to though)…but having a deeper understanding of this concept brought something to light-  I’m actually committing to giving this hobby-my true dream even- long term stick- to- it- ness…and this new found  awareness now makes it easier for me to accept were my skill level is at right now.

I feel like I have some fresh perspective on this issue…I’m doing workputting in time…hopefully-one day-9,579 hours from now- it will pay off!

By the way-

This is a little breakdown on the structure of the hours…

Source

Interesting…No?

Leave a Reply

