A Mini Break From My Parenting Responsibilities…

Source

My hubby and I had a taste of what is to come in our not so distant future..

An Empty Nest

Our daughter left for college back in August…which was a HUGE adjustment for us. I can honestly state, I feel more at peace now with her living away from home, but let me tell you- it was a tear filled, emotional couple of months for me.

This weekend our boys attended a long-awaited, Leaders Club Rally in South Florida…which left Mitch and I completely, and utterly home alone for two entire days…

The week before~

I started fantasizing about all the interesting, out of the norm activities we could engage in to pass the time- we would eat at an exotic restaurant, maybe go indoor rock climbing,  see a movie, or even doing some boutique window shopping…When I mentioned all my fascinating plans to my husband… I was met with an unenthusiastic, blank faced stare from him.None of my ideas thrilled him in the slightest. He had worked seventy hours this week and was dog tired, all he wanted to do was sleep…

I understood of course, and appreciate all he does for our family but…

I was a little bummed!

Needless to say we..we spent a quiet weekend at home… and once I got over my disappointment, brooding, and mild pouting…I thoroughly enjoyed our time together…Remember this song…

My Weekend Song

This kind of sums up our weekend together, minus all the angst of  drinking Jack at the local bar-and standing in the unemployment line…

We did however, spend those two blissful days having amazing conversations, drinking great wine, and generally just re-connecting…I definitely think this is what our marriage needs every once in awhile, a little break from reality, our parenting responsibilities, and time to simply be a couple again!

My husband and I were also made keenly aware that soon- this will be how our life feels everyday…

Another Awesome discovery from the weekend…

Why oh why have I not thought of this sooner…I’m already half way through two books in three days…Audible is from one of my most favorite and trusted companies to do business with, Amazon. I downloaded the app on my phone and it’s already pre loaded on my Kindle Fire…I used my current Amazon account information to set up the payments and was ready to roll in no time at all. I also thought the prices and plans were completely reasonable.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE to read, but honestly with all the activities I have going on right at the moment, I can’t justify devoting any of my down time to sitting and reading a book. There is always something which needs to be done. Now though…

I “read” (listen) while I’m getting ready for work, folding laundry, cooking, walking the dog, cleaning the house, driving… basically any time I’m alone or not having to engage someone in conversation…I’m listening to a book. This is truly an answered prayer for me…lol!

I’m currently alternating between listening to a fiction and non-fiction book…

This one came highly recommended to me by a sweet friend of mine…

Source

AND

I loved the Violets of March by Sara Jio so I downloaded…

Source

I will do a little mini review when I finish them up…but so far so good.

GYM

I did get workouts in on Saturday and Sunday

I discovered this video and incorporated a few of her moves into my workout…I’m a huge Bosu Fan!

Heart pumping!!!

I hope you had a nice weekend…

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

